Databases A-Z: Tools for Finding Articles, Images & More

Questions: Ask A Librarian

A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z

Database Name & Description Information, Help & Access
A
Abstracts in Social Gerontology
References to articles on social gerontology, including the psychology of aging, elder abuse, and society and the elderly, 1992 to present.
Information: Description of the resource | Question Mark: Detailed search help available | Lock: database is restricted to N E I U users only
Academic Search Premier
References to articles (many full text) on a wide range of academic areas, 1975 to present (coverage varies by title). Included is a searchable collection of images.
Information: Description of the database | Question Mark: Detailed search help available | Lock: database is restricted to N E I U users only
ACM Digital Library
References to ACM (Association for Computing Machinery) publications. Full text is limited to journals and magazines, 1950s to present (coverage varies by title).
Information: Description of the database | Question Mark: Detailed search help available | Lock: database is restricted to N E I U users only
AgeLine
References to journal articles, books, and more on gerontology and issues related to aging, 1978 to present.
Information: Description of the database | Question Mark: Detailed search help available | Lock: database is restricted to N E I U users only
AGRICOLA
References to journals, books, and more on agriculture and related disciplines, including entomology, plant sciences, and forestry. Coverage from 15th century printed works to present.
Information: Description of the database | Question Mark: Detailed search help available | Lock: database is restricted to N E I U users only
Alternative Press Index
Reference to articles from alternative, radical, and leftist journals and newspapers, 1991 to present.
Information: Description of the database | Question Mark: Detailed search help available | Lock: database is restricted to N E I U users only
America's Newspapers
Full-text electronic editions of record for local, regional, and national U.S. newspapers, including the Chicago Sun-Times and the Chicago Tribune. Coverage varies by title.
Information: Description of the database | Question Mark: Detailed search help available | Lock: database is restricted to N E I U users only
America: History and Life
References to articles and books on the history of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present, indexing 1964 to present.
Information: Description of the database | Question Mark: Detailed search help available | Lock: database is restricted to N E I U users only
American National Biography Online
The premier biographical resource for notable people in American history (only deceased figures are included).
Information: Description of the database | Question Mark: Detailed search help available | Lock: database is restricted to N E I U users only
Annual Reviews
Full-text articles synthesizing the most significant primary research in the biological, medical, and social sciences. Coverage and online access varies by title.
Information: Description of the database | Question Mark: Detailed search help available | Lock: database is restricted to N E I U users only
Anthropological Index Online
References to articles covering all branches of anthropology and archaeology, 1950s to present.
Information: Description of the database | Question Mark: Detailed search help available | Globe: database is available to anyone with Internet access
Applied Science & Technology Abstracts
References to articles from core journals in the physical sciences covering chemistry, computer science, earth sciences, physics, and mathematics and more, 1983 to present.
Information: Description of the database | Question Mark: Detailed search help available | Lock: database is restricted to N E I U users only
Art Abstracts
References to articles and other international art publications on a broad range of art topics, 1984 to present.
Information: Description of the database | Question Mark: Detailed search help available | Lock: database is restricted to N E I U users only
ARTbibliographies Modern
References to articles, book, and more on all forms of modern and contemporary art, 1974 to present.
Information: Description of the database | Question Mark: Detailed search help available | Lock: database is restricted to N E I U users only
The ARTFL Project
Full text French language collection with thousands of online texts including classic works of French literature, historical dictionaries, non-fiction prose, and more.
Information: Description of the database | Question Mark: Detailed search help available | Lock: database is restricted to N E I U users only
ArticleFirst
References to items listed on the table of contents pages of journals, 1990 to present.
Information: Description of the database | Question Mark: Detailed search help available | Lock: database is restricted to N E I U users only
Arts & Humanities Search
Corresponds to the Arts & Humanities Citation Index, 1980 to present.
Information: Description of the database | Question Mark: Detailed search help available | Lock: database is restricted to N E I U users only
Associations Unlimited
Online access to the Encyclopedia of Associations series, including information on international associations and U.S. national, regional, state, and local membership organizations.
Information: Description of the database | Question Mark: Detailed search help available | Lock: database is restricted to N E I U users only
B Return to top
Bibliography of the History of Art
References to articles, books, and more on European and American visual arts, 1973 to present.
Information: Description of the database | Question Mark: Detailed search help available | Lock: database is restricted to N E I U users only
Biography and Genealogy Master Index
Comprehensive index to biographical articles on contemporary and historical figures found in specialized dictionaries and other reference sources.
Information: Description of the database | Question Mark: Detailed search help available | Lock: database is restricted to N E I U users only
Biography Index
References to articles and books with biographical information on individuals, both historical and contemporary, 1984 to present.
Information: Description of the database | Question Mark: Detailed search help available | Lock: database is restricted to N E I U users only
Biological Abstracts
References to articles on all disciplines in the life sciences, 1969 to present.
Information: Description of the database | Question Mark: Detailed search help available | Lock: database is restricted to N E I U users only
Book Review Digest
References and review excerpts of current English-language fiction and nonfiction books for adults and children, 1983 to current.
Information: Description of the database | Question Mark: Detailed search help available | Lock: database is restricted to N E I U users only
Books In Print
Information about books, video, and audio in print and about to be published (U.S. only). Also includes titles declared out of print from the mid-1970s to present.
Information: Description of the database | Question Mark: Detailed search help available | Lock: database is restricted to N E I U users only
Business Source Elite
References to articles in business and economics (many full text) and profiles for the world's 10,000 largest companies, 1985 to present (coverage varies by title).
Information: Description of the database | Question Mark: Detailed search help available | Lock: database is restricted to N E I U users only
C Return to top
Cabell's Directory of Publishing Opportunities
A directory of business journals with contact information and publication guidelines helpful to professors, graduate students and researchers seeking to publish their manuscripts.
Information: Description of the database | Question Mark: Detailed search help available | Lock: database is restricted to N E I U users only
CCH Tax Research Network
CCH no longer offers this version of its tax research platform. The new version is called IntelliConnect.
 
Chemical Abstracts (through STN Easy)
References to articles and other publications in all areas of chemistry, 1907 to present. A login and password are not required; simply click on Start Your Session. Available from 5 pm to 5 am Monday-Thursday, and from 5 pm Friday to 5 am the following Monday. **On the first Saturday of each month, STN is only available until 4 pm.
Information: Description of the database | Question Mark: Detailed search help available | Lock: database is restricted to N E I U users only
Chicago Sun-Times 1986-Present
Full text 1/1/1986-present.
Information: Description of the database | Question Mark: Detailed search help available | Lock: database is restricted to N E I U users only
Chicago Tribune Historical 1849-1986
Historical collection offers full page and article images with searchable full text.
Information: Description of the database | Question Mark: Detailed search help available | Lock: database is restricted to N E I U users only
Chicago Tribune 1985-Present
Full text 1/1/1985-present.
Information: Description of the database | Question Mark: Detailed search help available | Lock: database is restricted to N E I U users only
Chronicle of Higher Education
News, information, and editorials on all aspects of higher education, including fellowships, grants, and job listings, 1995 to present.
Information: Description of the database | Question Mark: Detailed search help available | Lock: database is restricted to N E I U users only
CollegeSource Online
Online college catalogs from 2-year, 4-year, graduate, professional, and international schools; includes a profile of every accredited college in the U.S. (PDF).
Information: Description of the database | Question Mark: Detailed search help available | Lock: database is restricted to N E I U users only
Complete Dictionary of Scientific Biography
Biographical articles on the professional lives of scientists from classical antiquity to modern times.
Information: Description of the database | Question Mark: Detailed help available | Lock: database is restricted to N E I U users only
Contemporary Authors
In-depth information on modern authors and their works.
Information: Description of the database | Question Mark: Detailed search help available | Lock: database is restricted to N E I U users only
CQ Researcher Online
A source of comprehensive reporting and analysis on news and current events, 1923 to present.
Information: Description of the database | Question Mark: Detailed search help available | Lock: database is restricted to N E I U users only
Credo Reference
Multiple language and subject reference works from a wide variety of reference publishers.
Information: Description of the database | Question Mark: Detailed search help available | Lock: database is restricted to N E I U users only
D Return to top
Digital Sanborn Maps, 1867-1970 (for Illinois)
Large-scale plans of a city or town created to assist fire insurance companies in risk assessment; the maps list street blocks and building numbers in use at the time the maps were made.
Information: Description of the database | Question Mark: Detailed search help available | Lock: database is restricted to N E I U users only
Dissertation Abstracts
Index to dissertations at accredited U.S. institutions since 1861; index to masters theses since 1988. Abstracts from 1980 to present.
Information: Description of the database | Question Mark: Detailed search help available | Lock: database is restricted to N E I U users only
E Return to top
Education Abstracts
References to articles from core journals on education, 1983 to present.
Information: Description of the database | Question Mark: Detailed search help available | Lock: database is restricted to N E I U users only
Educational Administration Abstracts
References to articles on educational administration, 1966 to present.
Information: Description of the database | Question Mark: Detailed search help available | Lock: database is restricted to N E I U users only
Encyclopaedia Britannica Online
Includes the complete encyclopedia, the Merriam-Webster's Collegiate Dictionary, the Britannica Book of the Year, and links to websites selected by Britannica editors.
Information: Description of the database | Question Mark: Detailed search help available | Lock: database is restricted to N E I U users only
Encyclopedia of Animals
In-depth information on a variety of topics relating to animals.
Information: Description of the database | Question Mark: Detailed search help available | Lock: database is restricted to N E I U users only
ERIC (through EBSCOhost)
References to articles, ERIC documents, and more on all areas of education, 1966 to present.
Information: Description of the database | Question Mark: Detailed search help available | Lock: database is restricted to N E I U users only
ERIC (through FirstSearch)
References to articles, ERIC documents, and more on all areas of education, 1966 to present.
Information: Description of the database | Question Mark: Detailed search help available | Lock: database is restricted to N E I U users only
ERIC (through Ovid)
References to articles, ERIC documents, and more on all areas of education, 1966 to present.
Information: Description of the database | Question Mark: Detailed search help available | Lock: database is restricted to N E I U users only
Ethnic NewsWatch
Full text newspapers and magazines published by ethnic, minority, and native presses in English and Spanish, 1990 to present (coverage varies by title).
Information: Description of the database | Question Mark: Detailed search help available | Lock: database is restricted to N E I U users only
F Return to top
Film & Television Literature Index
References to articles and books on film and television. Coverage varies by title.
Information: Description of the database | Question Mark: Detailed search help available | Lock: database is restricted to N E I U users only
Film Literature Index
References to articles on film and television, 1976-2001.
Information: Description of the database | Question Mark: Detailed search help available | Globe: database is available to anyone with Internet access
Funk & Wagnalls New Encyclopedia
Accessible articles on an array of topics.
Information: Description of the database | Question Mark: Detailed search help available | Lock: database is restricted to N E I U users only
G Return to top
GenderWatch
A full text database of diverse publications that focus on how gender impacts a broad spectrum of subject areas, 1970 to present (coverage varies by title).
Information: Description of the database | Question Mark: Detailed search help available | Lock: database is restricted to N E I U users only
GeoRef
References to articles, books, and more covering the worldwide geoscience literature; 1785 to present for North America, 1933 to present for International.
Information: Description of the database | Question Mark: Detailed search help available | Lock: database is restricted to N E I U users only
GPO Monthly Catalog
Online version of the Monthly Catalog of United States Government Publications, which indexes all types of U.S. government publications, 1976 to present.
Information: Description of the database | Question Mark: Detailed search help available | Lock: database is restricted to N E I U users only
GreenFILE
References to articles and government reports on the environment.
Information: Description of the database | Question Mark: Detailed search help available | Lock: database is restricted to N E I U users only
Grove Art
See Oxford Art Online
 
Grove Music
See Oxford Music Online
 
H Return to top
Hapi Online: The Database of Latin American Journal Articles
References to articles on Latin America and Hispanics/Latinos in the United States, 1970 to present.
Information: Description of the database | Question Mark: Detailed search help available | Lock: database is restricted to N E I U users only
HarpWeek 1857-1912
Detailed indexing with full text and image (illustrations, advertisements, etc.) of Harper's Weekly magazine from 1857-1877.
Information: Description of the database | Question Mark: Detailed search help available | Lock: database is restricted to N E I U users only
Health Source: Consumer Edition
References to articles from consumer health magazines (many full text), pamphlets, reference books, and more.
Information: Description of the database | Question Mark: Detailed search help available | Lock: database is restricted to N E I U users only
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition
References to articles (many full text) from academic journals on health and medicine.
Information: Description of the database | Question Mark: Detailed search help available | Lock: database is restricted to N E I U users only
Historical Abstracts
References to articles and books on the history of the world from 1450 to the present (excluding the United States and Canada), indexing 1955 to present.
Information: Description of the database | Question Mark: Detailed search help available | Lock: database is restricted to N E I U users only
HLAS Online: Handbook of Latin American Studies
References to journal articles, books, and more on Latin America, 1936 to present.
Information: Description of the database | Question Mark: Detailed search help available | Lock: database is restricted to N E I U users only
Humanities Abstracts
References to articles from core journals in the humanities covering literature and language, history, philosophy, classical studies, performing arts, religion and more, 1984 to present.
Information: Description of the database | Question Mark: Detailed search help available | Lock: database is restricted to N E I U users only
Hyde Park Herald
Newspaper of the Chicago neighborhood around the University of Chicago, 1882 to present.
Information: Description of the database | Question Mark: Detailed search help available | Globe: database is available to anyone with Internet access
I Return to top
IntelliConnect
Tax news, analysis, cases and other primary source material. New IntelliConnect User IDs can be created only by using computers on the main campus. Anyone with a CCH Tax Research Network ID should log into IntelliConnect as an existing IntelliConnect user, and IntelliConnect will move all materials associated with that CCH Tax Research Network ID over to IntelliConnect.
Information: Description of the database | Question Mark: Detailed search help available | Lock: database is restricted to N E I U users only
IPA Source
Online access to the International Phonetic Alphabet (IPA) transcriptions and literal translations of opera arias and art song texts.
Information: Description of the database | Question Mark: Detailed search help available | Lock: database is restricted to N E I U users only
Iter: Gateway to the Middle Ages & Renaissance
References to scholarly journal articles and books pertaining to the Middle Ages and Renaissance (400-1700), coverage varies by title.
Information: Description of the database | Question Mark: Detailed search help available | Lock: database is restricted to N E I U users only
J Return to top
JSTOR
An historical, fulltext archive of core journals in the arts, humanities, and social sciences.
Information: Description of the database | Question Mark: Detailed search help available | Lock: database is restricted to N E I U users only
K Return to top
Kraus Curriculum Development Library
A searchable database of curricula, frameworks, and standards for all subjects covered in PreK-12 and Adult Basic Education. Microfiche documents available on the 3rd floor of the Library.
Information: Description of the database | Question Mark: Detailed search help available | Lock: database is restricted to N E I U users only
L Return to top
Latin American Newsstand
Full text of over 35 leading newspapers in Spanish and Portuguese (with some additional content in English) from across Latin America, including Mexico, Argentina, and Brazil.
Information: Description of the database | Question Mark: Detailed search help available | Lock: database is restricted to N E I U users only
Latin American Women Writers
A searchable full text collection of prose, poetry, and drama composed by women writing in Mexico, Central America, and South America.
Information: Description of the database | Question Mark: Detailed search help available | Lock: database is restricted to N E I U users only
The Latino American Experience
A full-text resource comprised of reference information, images, primary resources, and vetted websites exploring the history and culture of U.S. Latinos.
Information: Description of the database | Question Mark: Detailed search help available | Lock: database is restricted to N E I U users only
Latino Literature: Poetry, Drama, and Fiction
A searchable full text collection of poetry, fiction, and drama written in English and Spanish by hundreds of Chicano, Cuban, Puerto Rican, Dominican, and other Latin authors working in the United States.
Information: Description of the database | Question Mark: Detailed search help available | Lock: database is restricted to N E I U users only
LexisNexis Academic
Provides access to a wide range of news, business, legal, and reference information.
Information: Description of the database | Question Mark: Detailed search help available | Lock: database is restricted to N E I U users only
LexisNexis Congressional
Information by and about Congress including: indexing of hearings from 1789 forward; full text of bills from 1989 forward, laws and legislative tracking, and more.
Information: Description of the database | Question Mark: Detailed search help available | Lock: database is restricted to N E I U users only
LexisNexis Statistical
Statistical data from U.S. federal and state governments, the United Nations, and international organizations.
Information: Description of the database | Question Mark: Detailed search help available | Lock: database is restricted to N E I U users only
Library, Information Science & Technology Abstracts (LISTA)
References to articles, books, and more on all fields of librarianship, mid-1960s to present (coverage varies by title).
Information: Description of the database | Question Mark: Detailed search help available | Lock: database is restricted to N E I U users only
Library Music Source
Online access to sheet music for nearly all published works of the world's great composers for orchestra, chamber ensemble, piano, organ, voice, chorus, strings, winds, percussion, and guitar.
Information: Description of the database | Question Mark: Detailed search help available | Lock: database is restricted to N E I U users only
Life and Works of Jorge Luis Borges
Based upon the Jorge Luis Borges Collection and Documentation Center of the Fundación San Telmo (Buenos Aires, Argentina), this database provides bibliographic access to the world's largest and most distinguished collection of materials related to Borges' life and works.
Information: Description of the database | Question Mark: Detailed search help available | Lock: database is restricted to N E I U users only
Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts
References to articles, books, and more on all aspects of the study of language, 1973 to present.
Information: Description of the database | Question Mark: Detailed search help available | Lock: database is restricted to N E I U users only
Literary Index
Comprehensive indexing of many standard literary criticism print sources. Most of the referenced sources are available in the Reference Collection, 1st floor.
Information: Description of the database | Question Mark: Detailed search help available | Globe: database is available to anyone with Internet access
M Return to top
MAS Ultra — School Edition
Designed for high school libraries, this databases references articles from magazines and current events publications (many full text), 1984 to present (coverage varies by title).
Information: Description of the database | Question Mark: Detailed search help available | Lock: database is restricted to N E I U users only
MathSciNet
Online version of Mathematical Reviews, 1940 to present, with some retrospective coverage dating back to 1864.
Information: Description of the database | Question Mark: Detailed search help available | Lock: database is restricted to N E I U users only
MEDLINE (through FirstSearch)
References to articles on all areas of medicine, 1950 to present. See PubMed for a free, more frequently updated version of the database.
Information: Description of the database | Question Mark: Detailed search help available | Lock: database is restricted to N E I U users only
Mental Measurements Yearbook
Information about and reviews of all English-language standardized tests covering educational skills, psychology, and more as included in the printed Mental Measurements Yearbooks, 9th to 17th Yearbooks (January 2009).
Information: Description of the database | Question Mark: Detailed search help available | Lock: database is restricted to N E I U users only
Military & Government Collection
References to articles (many full text) and government-issued pamphlets (full text) pertaining to all branches of the military. Coverage varies.
Information: Description of the database | Question Mark: Detailed search help available | Lock: database is restricted to N E I U users only
MLA Directory of Periodicals
Contains information on the publications indexed in the MLA International Bibliography.
Information: Description of the database | Question Mark: Detailed search help available | Lock: database is restricted to N E I U users only
MLA International Bibliography
References to articles, books, and more on literature, languages, linguistics, and folklore, 1926 to present.
Information: Description of the database | Question Mark: Detailed search help available | Lock: database is restricted to N E I U users only
Music Index Online
References to articles on every aspect of classical and popular world music, 1979 to present.
Information: Description of the database | Question Mark: Detailed search help available | Lock: database is restricted to N E I U users only
N Return to top
National Criminal Justice Reference Service Virtual Library
Full-text publications from the NCJRS Web on justice and substance abuse.
Information: Description of the database | Question Mark: Detailed search help available | Globe: database is available to anyone with Internet access
Naxos Music Library
The most comprehensive audio file collection of classical music available online, including selected world music, Chinese music, and other genres. Please click Log Out after using this service.
Information: Description of the database | Question Mark: Detailed search help available | Lock: database is restricted to N E I U users only
Naxos Music Library Jazz
One of the most comprehensive audio file collections of jazz music available online. Please click Log Out after using this service.
Information: Description of the database | Question Mark: Detailed search help available | Lock: database is restricted to N E I U users only
Naxos Music Library Sheet Music
Downloadable sheet music in all classical genres, spanning music from Medieval to the 21st century.
Information: Description of the database | Question Mark: Detailed search help available | Lock: database is restricted to N E I U users only
NetAdvantage
S&P (Standard and Poor's) business information sources on companies, industries, mutual funds, stocks, bonds, and credit markets.
Information: Description of the database | Question Mark: Detailed search help available | Lock: database is restricted to N E I U users only
New York Times 2000-Present
Full text 1/1/2000–present.
Information: Description of the database | Question Mark: Detailed search help available | Lock: database is restricted to N E I U users only
New York Times Historical 1851-2005
Historical collection offers full page and article images with searchable full text.
Information: Description of the database | Question Mark: Detailed search help available | Lock: database is restricted to N E I U users only
Newspaper Source
Full-text electronic editions of record for local, regional, and national U.S. newspapers, including small-town newspapers not covered by America's Newspapers or LexisNexis Academic. Coverage varies by title.
Information: Description of the database | Question Mark: Detailed search help available | Lock: database is restricted to N E I U users only
O Return to top
Oxford Art Online - formerly Grove Art
Access to Grove Art Online and other art reference titles from Oxford University Press.
Information: Description of the database | Question Mark: Detailed search help available | Lock: database is restricted to N E I U users only
Oxford English Dictionary Online
The OED is the unsurpassed guide to the meaning, history, and pronunciation of English-language words, both present and past.
Information: Description of the database | Question Mark: Detailed search help available | Lock: database is restricted to N E I U users only
Oxford Music Online - formerly Grove Music
Access to Grove Music Online and other music reference titles from Oxford University Press.
Information: Description of the database | Question Mark: Detailed search help available | Lock: database is restricted to N E I U users only
Oxford Reference Online
Online dictionaries, language reference, and subject reference works from Oxford University Press.
Information: Description of the database | Question Mark: Detailed search help available | Lock: database is restricted to N E I U users only
P Return to top
PAIS International
References to articles, books, and more on national and international political, social, and public policy issues, 1972 to present.
Information: Description of the database | Question Mark: Detailed search help available | Lock: database is restricted to N E I U users only
PapersFirst
References to papers presented at conferences worldwide, 1993 to present.
Information: Description of the database | Question Mark: Detailed search help available | Lock: database is restricted to N E I U users only
Philosopher's Index
References to articles and books on all fields of philosophy, 1940 to present.
Information: Description of the database | Question Mark: Detailed search help available | Lock: database is restricted to N E I U users only
PILOTS Database
References to publications on post-traumatic stress disorder (PTSD) and other mental-health sequelae of traumatic events, sponsored by the U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs, 1871 to present.
Information: Description of the database | Question Mark: Detailed search help available | Globe: database is available to anyone with Internet access
POPLINE
References to articles, books, and more on reproductive health, 1970 to present.
Information: Description of the database | Question Mark: Detailed search help available | Globe: database is available to anyone with Internet access
Population Index
References to articles, book, and more on population topics, 1986-2000.
Information: Description of the database | Question Mark: Detailed search help available | Globe: database is available to anyone with Internet access
Primary Search
Designed for elementary school libraries, this database references articles from popular, elementary school magazines (many full text), 1985 to present.
Information: Description of the database | Question Mark: Detailed search help available | Lock: database is restricted to N E I U users only
Proceedings
References to conference publications, 1993 to present.
Information: Description of the database | Question Mark: Detailed search help available | Lock: database is restricted to N E I U users only
Professional Development Collection
References to articles (many full text) from a specialized collection of journals for professional educators, 1965 to present.
Information: Description of the database | Question Mark: Detailed search help available | Lock: database is restricted to N E I U users only
Project MUSE
Full text journal collection of current humanities and social sciences journals from over 60 scholarly publishers.
Information: Description of the database | Question Mark: Detailed search help available | Lock: database is restricted to N E I U users only
PsycINFO
References to articles, books, and more on the psychological, social, and behavioral sciences, 1806 to present.
Information: Description of the database | Question Mark: Detailed search help available | Lock: database is restricted to N E I U users only
PubMed
A service of the U.S. National Library of Medicine that includes citations from MEDLINE and other life science journals for biomedical articles, 1950s to present.
Information: Description of the database | Question Mark: Detailed search help available | Globe: database is available to anyone with Internet access
R Return to top
Race Relations Abstracts
References to articles on race relations, including ethnic studies, discrimination, and immigration studies, 1975 to present.
Information: Description of the database | Question Mark: Detailed search help available | Lock: database is restricted to N E I U users only
Regional Business News
Full text of business journals, newspapers and newswires covering all metropolitan and rural areas within the United States.
Information: Description of the database | Question Mark: Detailed search help available | Lock: database is restricted to N E I U users only
RILM (Répertoire International de Littérature Musicale) Abstracts of Music Literature
References to articles, books, catalogues, criticism, and more on music and musicology, 1967 to present.
Information: Description of the database | Question Mark: Detailed search help available | Lock: database is restricted to N E I U users only
S Return to top
Saskia Art Images Collection (CARLI Digital Collections)
30,000 digital images of paintings, sculpture and architecture, as well as archaeological sites.
Information: Description of the database | Question Mark: Detailed search help available | Lock: database is restricted to N E I U users only
Scientific American Archive Online
Full article archive in color, 1993 to present (PDF).
Information: Description of the database | Question Mark: Detailed search help available | Lock: database is restricted to N E I U users only
Social Sciences Abstracts
References to articles from core journals in the social sciences covering anthropology, corrections, psychology, sociology, and more, 1983 to present.
Information: Description of the database | Question Mark: Detailed search help available | Lock: database is restricted to N E I U users only
Social Services Abstracts
References to articles and other publications on social work, human services, and related areas, 1979 to present.
Information: Description of the database | Question Mark: Detailed search help available | Lock: database is restricted to N E I U users only
Sociological Abstracts
References to articles, books, and more on sociology and related disciplines, 1952 to present.
Information: Description of the database | Question Mark: Detailed search help available | Lock: database is restricted to N E I U users only
SPORTDiscus
References to articles, books, and more on all areas of sport, exercise science, and physical education, 1800 to present (coverage varies by title).
Information: Description of the database | Question Mark: Detailed search help available | Lock: database is restricted to N E I U users only
STAT-USA
Comprehensive current and historical data related to the economy, business, and international trade and market research (a service of the U.S. Department of Commerce).
Information: Description of the database | Question Mark: Detailed search help available | Lock: database is restricted to N E I U users only
Statesman's Yearbook Online
Current information on every country in the world, including coverage of history, politics, economics, trade, and infrastructure.
Information: Description of the resource | Question Mark: Detailed search help available | Lock: database is restricted to N E I U users only
SUR, 1931-1992
Full text of Sur (1931-1992), an influential magazine published by a group of important Argentine writers that included Jorge Luis Borges, Adolfo Bioy Casares, and Silvina and Victoria Ocampo.
Information: Description of the resource | Question Mark: Detailed search help available | Lock: database is restricted to N E I U users only
T Return to top
Teacher Reference Center
References to articles from popular teacher and educational administration journals and magazines to assist professional educators.
Information: Description of the database | Question Mark: Detailed search help available | Lock: database is restricted to N E I U users only
U Return to top
U.S. Hispanic Newsstand
Full text of thirty leading Hispanic newspapers published in the United States—including El Diario/LA PRENSA (New York City), La Opinión (Los Angeles), Conexión (San Antonio) and Extra (Chicago)— providing local, regional, national, and international news from the Hispanic perspective.
Information: Description of the database | Question Mark: Detailed search help available | Lock: database is restricted to N E I U users only
Ulrichs Periodical Directory
Detailed information on all types of serials published worldwide.
Information: Description of the database | Question Mark: Detailed search help available | Lock: database is restricted to N E I U users only
Urban Studies Abstracts
References to articles on urban studies, including urban affairs, community development, urban history, 1973 to present.
Information: Description of the database | Question Mark: Detailed search help available | Lock: database is restricted to N E I U users only
W Return to top
Wall Street Journal 1984-Present
The financial newspaper of record offering coverage of national and international finance, 1984 to present.
Information: Description of the database | Question Mark: Detailed search help available | Lock: database is restricted to N E I U users only
World Almanacs
The World Almanac series and the Funk & Wagnalls New Encyclopedia, 1998 to present.
Information: Description of the database | Question Mark: Detailed search help available | Lock: database is restricted to N E I U users only
World Shakespeare Bibliography
References to Shakespeare-related scholarship (articles, books, theatrical productions, and more), 1961 to present.
Information: Description of the database | Question Mark: Detailed search help available | Lock: database is restricted to N E I U users only
WorldCat
OCLC Online Union Catalog of books and other materials in libraries worldwide.
Information: Description of the database | Question Mark: Detailed search help available | Lock: database is restricted to N E I U users only

Library Home

Related Links

Find a Scholarly or Peer-Reviewed Article

Off-campus Access to Library Resources

Start Your Research in...

Use RefWorks to Organize Citations

Still Need Help?

Ask A Librarian for HelpAsk A Librarian